Weekend Update

I haven’t been feeling the greatest the last few days.  I’ve kind of been on an emotional roller coaster ride ever since the surgery.  I think at least part of it has to do with the massive physical changes that are starting to take place, but I’ve still been kind of down in the dumps.

I can’t stop obsessing over how I’m going to get by without using food as a crutch.  I don’t think it really hit me before the surgery, but I’ve used food as a crutch for as long as I can remember, and now I no longer have that.  I’m not sure which is worse, the absence of my crutch, or the stunning realization that it never helped with anything in the first place.

I already understood this intellectually, but it’s all hit me on a deeper level within the last several weeks.  My inability to shut down my thoughts is having an immobilizing effect on me.  I haven’t been able to take any action to improve things because my mind keeps pulling me down.  I know that sounds wrong and it doesn’t make any sense, but that’s the way things have been going.  I guess the roller coaster has been on a downward trend the last few days.

Right  now, I have my TV on, and a college basketball game is playing.  I have no idea why I have it tuned to that, because I’m not paying any attention to the game, and I really could care less who wins the tournament.  Sometimes, I think I have the TV on just to give myself the illusion that I’m not alone.  It doesn’t work.

The realization that I’ve come to is a bit overwhelming, to say the least.  With all the digging I’ve done over the last year to prepare for and go through gastric bypass surgery, it’s only a tiny fraction of what needs to be done.  The hole that I’ve been digging for myself pretty much my whole life is enormous, and I have a lot more digging and clawing to do.  I have to remind myself that it’s one day at a time, one day at a time.

I’m sorry this post is a little bit of a downer.  I’m trying to keep things as positive as possible on this blog, because I don’t want to adversely affect anyone out there who may be considering going through weight loss surgery.  I can’t lie about how I feel, though.  My weight problems and my mental problems are so intertwined and connected, that sometimes it’s hard to separate one from the other.

This entry was posted in bariatric surgery, gastric bypass surgery, weight loss surgery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment