04-24-08 – I want . . .

One of my co-workers just had lap band surgery in March; she’s already lost quite a bit of weight and says she feels great! I know that my friend and college roommate (known as Irish J in this blog), who had gastric bypass surgery several years ago, is literally half the man he used to be.  I’m still not sure which method I’m going to choose; it’s a major decision, and I’m not taking it lightly. I am going to lose weight, though, and here are a few reasons why –

I want to be able to walk up a flight of steps without having to rest at the top. I want to be able to walk around a store without getting all tired out. I want to be able to fit behind the wheel of any car, not just the large cars like my Le Sabre. I especially want to be able to fit behind the wheel of a classic English sports car. I want to be able to not cringe when the fire drill alarm goes off at work, knowing that I have to walk down four flights of steps with people behind me. I want to be able to walk for longer than a few minutes at a time. I want to be able to sleep without using a bi-pap for sleep apnea. I want to be able to walk on a sandy beach. I want to be able to fit in a booth at restaurants, so I don’t always have to ask for a table. I want to be able to go to an amusement park and get on any ride I want. I want to be able to sit Indian-style. I want to be able to go for a hike in the woods. I want to be able to go through the turnstiles at any place they have turnstiles, without having to ask to go through the handicapped entrance. I want to be able to sit in a regular-size theater seat so I can go to concerts and shows and movies. I want to be able to go to a baseball game. I want to be able to plan any activity based on desire rather than physical limitations. I want to be able to go to a car show and get in any of the cars they’ll let people get into. I want to be able to rent an exotic supercar for a weekend and actually be able to fit inside it. I want to be able to walk the entire boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ. I want to be able to walk on the rocks at Schoodic Point in Acadia National Park. I want to be able to climb to the top of Mt. Battie in Camden Hills State Park. I want to be able to climb to the top of any lighthouse that they’ll let people climb to the top of. I want to be able to ride a Wave Runner. I want to be able to go horseback-riding. I want to be able to ride a scooter. I want to be able to buy clothes anywhere. I want to be able to look down and see my feet when I’m standing. I want to be able to ride a bicycle.

I want to be able to live, not just exist. I want . . . .

This entry was posted in weight loss and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 04-24-08 – I want . . .

  1. YOU CAN DO IT!!!

    I believe in you!

  2. pstarr999 says:

    Thanks! And thanks for reading!

  3. you’re very welcome!

    WE need to all be here for eachother. It’s a hard fight & we need all the help we can get!

  4. nukemshootemall says:

    Pretty heavy stuff Paul. I am with you my friend!

  5. jeffsher63 says:

    I can relate….

    And I remember thinking prior to the surgery “what if I can’t eat pizza again” or “if I have this constant overwhelming urge to eat, how will I control it after the surgery?”. But those are distant thoughts now; just think of the reasons above, and that will get you through it. You will not believe how much of a change it is on this side of the surgery.

  6. tommytravel says:

    what kind of english sports car to you plan to rent??
    I get to ride in it if you do!!

  7. pstarr999 says:

    I don’t know. I like them all. Triumph, MG, Austin Healey (Remember David’s?)

  8. Cindy says:

    A year ago I could have written your I Want post because I had so many of the same wants. It’s been almost 11 month since my gastric bypass and I now can do all the things I wanted to do. No longer do I have a drawer of meds to take daily either. No more bi pap machine to sleep. Last year on a cruise we went to a fort in Puerto Rico and just walking up to it almost killed me. I honestly thought I’d have a heart attack and die in Puerto Rico! I felt so so bad.

    You can do if I did! Best of luck to you!

  9. pstarr999 says:

    Thanks for the words of encouragement, Cindy! I’m hoping that the next cruise I go on will be much less stressful for my body. My first consultation with a weight loss surgeon is May 15th, and I’m beginning to think more positively about attacking my weight problem.

  10. Pingback: 07-13-08 - Feeling better, of course « REDUCTION ROAD ODYSSEY - My Weight Loss Journey

Leave a comment